Share files in SharePoint in review mode only
In case you haven’t seen, there’s a new feature when you share a document from SharePoint Online: Open in review mode only.
In this blog post, we’re going to have a look at how it works, and what’s the experience from a reviewer perspective.
How does it work?
When you’re about to share a document, you’ll see the option in the popup. You must have allow editing checked, or the option will be greyed out.
You also need to choose People in <tenant_name> with the link, or specific people selected.
In this demo, I’ll share a document called “ReviewModeDoc.docx” with a (fake) user called John Smith.
Any difference(s) when sharing?
There’s a subtle visual difference when sharing this way. If you look at the access for that specific document, we can see:
- People you specify can edit
- People you specify can edit (WITH A REVIEWER ICON)
When opening the email containing the link, we’re automatically greeted by a popup which says the document has been shared with John Smith for reviewing.
By clicking on OK, we can View or Review the file but not edit it.
That’s a pretty neat addition when you don’t want to change a lot of permissions just for reviewing a file!
Thanks for reading!